Songs With Poetic Devices – What’s Your Fave?

http://www.free-song-download.com/free-song.jpg

 Songs often incorporate some wonderful poetic devices. Let’s share!  Trawl through some of your favourite songs and choose one with poetic devices.  Copy and paste some of the song’s important stanzas across to this blog, choose at least three examples of poetic devices and describe them – explain how they have been used to create an effect on the reader in order to deliberately manipulate his/her emotions.

34 responses

  1. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely
    off topic but I had to tell someone!

  2. Your website was incredible helpful, so I thought I’d share as well.

    Brett Dennen “Desert Sunrise”

    A desert sunrise, you warm my soul
    Painting me in shades of clay
    Covering me whole
    And I’m a lizard, sunbathing in your radiance
    Oh i come out of hiding, so sweet
    so sweet you are
    If I could only have a taste
    Wrap my lips around your flavor
    Just because you are you
    Just because you are, so beautiful

    And I’ve been waiting all this life
    In the company of one
    And I know I am young
    But I don’t want to be alone
    If you could only just
    Consider the two of us
    And i know darling
    I could be so good to you

    I see you rising
    On the horizon
    Bringing light into the day
    And I’m coasting on your rays
    When I awoke, you spoke through the mist of the mystic bliss
    Casting shadows
    On all my dismal yesterdays
    Do you remember that you told me, darling
    That I was so real
    I tell you all, my tears for you are real
    And we’ll cross that bridge again some day
    I know we will
    I hope we will

    Desert sunset, a lullaby
    If I could give it all to you
    If you’d only let me try
    Sing so sweetly, it’s my only wish
    Music drips from your lips like sweet sips of a summer’s kiss
    Summer raindrops are precious, tongues twist

    And I’ve been waiting all this life
    In the company of one
    And I know I am young
    But I don’t want to be alone
    If you could only just
    Consider the two of us
    And I know darling
    I could be so good to you

    I see you rising, on the horizon
    Bringing light into the day
    And I’m coasting on your rays
    When I awoke and you spoke through the mist of a mystic bliss
    Casting shadows
    On all my dismal yesterdays
    Do you remember that you told me, darling
    That I was so real
    I tell you all, my tears for you are real
    We’ll cross that bridge again some day
    I know we will
    I hope we will

    Desert moonrise, into the night
    Before we lay our heads
    I wish to walk under the splendorous starlight
    Sing so sweetly, it’s the sweetest sound
    And I’ve become weak in the knees
    And I drop down and kiss the ground
    And all my cares lie far below
    In this earth I wish to die
    In this hearth my fire grows

    • This is my favourite song with some poetic devices in it.

      THOUSAND FOOT KRUTCH
      “The End Is Where We Begin”

      [Verse 1:]
      I’m an alien
      Cuz I’m not of this world
      I have a name
      but I’ve been changed, and now I can’t stay the same
      and I’m a loser if that means I’ve been lost before
      but now I found it, I’m surrounded
      Cuz you can hear the way it sounded

      [Pre-Chorus]
      Like angels singing with a million voices

      [Chorus:]
      The end is where we begin
      It’s crawling back when
      We run away, run away
      cuz the end is where we begin
      Where broken hearts mend
      and start to beat again
      The end is where we begin

      [Verse 2:]
      I’m a monster if that means I’m misunderstood
      Cuz its alive and I can’t hide it
      The energy is rising
      and I’m a traitor if that means I’ve turned on myself
      I can’t deny it, it’s like a riot
      and I can’t keep it quiet

      [Pre-Chorus]
      Like angels singing with a million voices

      [Chorus:]
      The end is where we begin
      It’s crawling back when
      We run away, run away
      Cuz the end is where we begin
      Where broken hearts mend
      and start to beat again
      The end is where we begin

      [Bridge:]
      Hear me running
      Hear me running, running
      Hear me running, hear me running, ra-running
      Hear me running, hear me

      [Chorus:]
      The end is where we begin
      It’s crawling back when
      We run away, run away
      Cuz the end is where we begin
      Where broken hearts mend
      and start to beat again

      The end is where we begin
      It’s crawling back when
      We run away, run away
      Cuz the end is where we begin
      Where broken hearts mend
      and start to beat again
      The end is where we begin

      • Hi there!
        I need a good song with poetry elements that is appropriae for school? Know any? And if you can, can you tell me what verse has an element of poetry?
        -THANKS!!! NEED IT BY TOMMOROW! MAy 26, 2013

  3. Pingback: Sing Poetic | Not the Family Business!

  4. When you’re weary, feeling small
    When tears are in your eyes,
    I will dry them all
    I’m on your side
    When times get rough
    And friends just can’t be found

    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will lay me down
    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will lay me down

    When you’re down and out
    When you’re on the street
    When evening falls so hard
    I will comfort you
    I’ll take your part
    When darkness comes
    And pain is all around

    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will lay me down
    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will lay me down

    Sail on silver girl
    Sail on by
    Your time has come to shine
    All your dreams are on their way
    See how they shine
    When you need a friend
    I’m sailing right behind

    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will ease your mind
    Like a bridge over troubled water
    I will ease your mind

    Personification is used in the line “when evening falls so hard” and “darkness comes” in order to bring life to ‘night’ and potray it as dominating and to express the rapid/dramatic way in which night approached. Metaphors are also used in this song in lines such as “See how they shine” and “When you need a friend, I’m sailing right behind”. Metaphor was used in the line “i’m sailing right behind” to exhibit the smooth sailing of a boat right behind this person- almost like a guaridan (a kind of antithesis to the troubled water). When the metaphor “see how they shine” is used so that they stand out in the darkness of the song and to, in a way, symbol hope. Similes are also used in the poem in lines such as “like a bridge over troubled water”. This basically suggests a helping hand as he offers to lay down and be the ‘bridge’ over troubled waters (a euphomism for troubles/issues in life). By comparing his offer to a bridge, an offer that reflects full support and guidance is portrayed.

  5. I could not decide on one, so i’m going to list some of my favourite hip-hop poetry. I highly recommend every one to youtube these songs and really discover the poetry that is instilled in hip-hop.
    Clap – Pharoe Monch.
    Truth be Told – Horrorshow
    Undisputed – Ludacris. It may be rude mrs smith, but there are 10 similes in one verse, which is pretty good i think.
    Then Till Now (M-Phaze Remix) – Bliss N Eso
    And finally, as we grow towards the close of our schooling time, including time spent with mrs Smith, i feel the last song is quite appropriate in my mind for this time. Simply, thank you.
    I Know (feat. Joyride) – Illy

    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//
    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//

    thats life, its crazy aint it huh?//
    from temperamental teenage days seemed like all roads led to blazing up//
    put my olds through shit deeper than a bass guitar//
    i couldn’t play but i wrote, and although//
    my poor folks tried it all, still caused em to tow//
    a borderline warzone within the walls of their home//
    all outta love, me risking my future, they watching all of it so//
    desperate to help, being forced to let go//
    now i know my story’s no different to most//
    and im not saying i’ve done more than the average joe, just making it known//
    what happened here, how many parents you know//
    could go through that and still back their sons rap career, the case aint closed//
    and fate saw me come good mr magistrate//
    turns out chasing the dream is worth the battle pain//
    so this for those who walked me to my first school day//
    and who’ll be right there when i graduate, thank you i had to say it//

    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//
    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//

    cause with me, you’d leave nothing to fate//
    and for that, i know i account for every one of your greys//
    and the kicker is, i know you’d have it no other way//
    that’s love, there aint much i can say, but let me try//
    cause every problem i faced, they faced it with me//
    and added handfuls of stress on top of their already chokers plates//
    and stephanie, everything i lack, she’s got it in spades//
    look im just sorry this songs an album late, cause if im honest//
    from sports days to court dates//
    from 40/40 in the hallways, to kicked out of schools, they backed me always//
    it made for quick recoveries//
    cause no matter how bad i fucked up, they never once gave up on me//
    it goes much deeper than just some shit i wrote//
    im choking up, trying to get this past the lump in my throat//
    guess i could never say enough, i could never make it up//
    but till im dust ima try cause its love, and with us its nothing but//

    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//
    I talk a good one, but know that beyond that//
    i know i would never have made it without you//
    and i know there aint much i can do to repay that//
    the reason i made it through, all i can say is thank you//

    More lyrics: http://www.lyricsmania.com/i_know_lyrics_illy.html
    All about Illy: http://www.musictory.com/music/Illy

  6. Fitter, Happier (Radiohead) – from OK COMPUTER
    A simile exists in the line: Like a cat, tied to a stick, that’s driven into
    —–LYRICS—–
    Fitter,
    Happier,
    more productive
    comfortable
    not drinking too much
    regular exercise at the gym (3 days a week)
    getting on better with your associate employee contemporaries
    at ease
    eating well (no more microwave dinners and saturated fats)
    a patient better driver
    a safer car (baby smiling in back seat)
    sleeping well (no bad dreams)
    no paranoia
    careful to all animals (never washing spiders down the plughole)
    keep in contact with old friends (enjoy a drink now and then)
    will frequently check credit at (moral) bank (hole in wall)
    favours for favours
    fond but not in love
    charity standing orders
    on sundays ring road supermarket
    (no killing moths or putting boiling water on the ants)
    car wash (also on sundays)
    no longer afraid of the dark
    or midday shadows
    nothing so ridiculously teenage and desperate
    nothing so childish
    at a better pace
    slower and more calculated
    no chance of escape
    now self-employed
    concerned (but powerless)
    an empowered and informed member of society (pragmatism not idealism)
    will not cry in public
    less chance of illness
    tires that grip in the wet (shot of baby strapped in back seat)
    a good memory
    still cries at a good film
    still kisses with saliva
    no longer empty and frantic
    like a cat
    tied to a stick
    that’s driven into
    frozen winter shit (the ability to laugh at weakness)
    calm
    fitter, healthier and more productive
    a pig
    in a cage
    on antibiotics

  7. The song I have chosen to anaylse is Firework by Katy Perry.
    Do you ever feel like a plastic bag – simile
    Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again? – alliteration
    Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin – rhyme
    Like a house of cards, one blow from caving in? – rhyme

    Do you ever feel already buried deep?
    Six feet under screams, but no one seems to hear a thing – alliteration
    Do you know that there’s still a chance for you
    ‘Cause there’s a spark in you?

    You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine – internal rhyme
    Just own the night like the 4th of July

    ‘Cause baby, you’re a firework – metaphor
    Come on, show ‘em what you’re worth
    Make ‘em go, oh, oh, oh
    As you shoot across the sky – hyperbole

    Baby, you’re a firework – metaphor
    Come on, let your colors burst – metaphor
    Make ‘em go, oh, oh, oh – repetition
    You’re gonna leave ‘em falling down

    You don’t have to feel like a waste of space – rhyme
    You’re original, cannot be replaced – rhyme
    If you only knew what the future holds
    After a hurricane comes a rainbow

    Baby, you’re a firework – metaphor
    Come on, let your colors burst
    Make ‘em go, oh, oh, oh
    You’re gonna leave ‘em falling down
    Boom, boom, boom – repetition, rhyme
    Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon – repetition, rhyme
    Boom, boom, boom
    Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon

  8. The Fear by Lily Allen
    I want to be rich and I want lots of money
    I don’t care about clever I don’t care about funny
    I want loads of clothes and ****loads of diamonds
    I heard people die while they are trying to find them

    And I’ll take my clothes off and it will be shameless
    ‘Cuz everyone knows that’s how you get famous
    I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror
    I’m on the right track, yeah I’m on to a winner

    I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore
    And I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore
    And when do you think it will all become clear?
    ‘Cuz I’m being taken over by the Fear

    Life’s about film stars and less about mothers
    It’s all about fast cars and cussing each other
    But it doesn’t matter cause I’m packing plastic
    And that’s what makes my life so **** fantastic

    And I am a weapon of massive consumption
    And its not my fault it’s how I’m programmed to function
    I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror
    I’m on the right track, yeah we’re on to a winner

    I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore
    And I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore
    And when do you think it will all become clear?
    ‘Cuz I’m being taken over by the Fear

    Forget about guns and forget ammunition
    ‘Cuz I’m killing them all on my own little mission
    Now I’m not a saint but I’m not a sinner
    Now everything is cool as long as I’m getting thinner

    I don’t know what’s right and what’s real anymore
    And I don’t know how I’m meant to feel anymore
    And when do you think it will all become clear?
    ‘Cuz I’m being taken over by the Fear
    This song explores the competitiveness in western society and our desire to be rich, beautiful and famous. A poetic device is evident in the line “I am a weapon of massive consumption” as it is a pun of ‘weapon of massive destruction’. This line emphasises the waste in today’s western consumer society. “The Fear” is a metaphor for the fear of not being a celebrity, not being beautiful or rich. It is personified as the repeated line is “I’m being taken over by the Fear” which conjures the image of someone being dominated by “the Fear” – it is unavoidable in western society with the huge impact that media has on our lives. Also, the capitalisation of ‘f’ in “the Fear” is significant as the word is expressed as a proper noun, thus, giving it an identity. “The Fear” is not a mere object but a living, breathing, functioning entity whose purpose is to make you scared of living an ordinary, dull life as a ‘nobody.’

  9. Lyrics – Sympathy for the Devil (Rolling Stones):

    Please allow me to introduce myself
    I’m a man of wealth and taste
    I’ve been around for a long, long year
    Stole many a mans soul and faith
    And I was round when jesus christ
    Had his moment of doubt and pain
    Made damn sure that pilate
    Washed his hands and sealed his fate
    Pleased to meet you
    Hope you guess my name
    But what’s puzzling you
    Is the nature of my game
    I stuck around st. petersburg
    When I saw it was a time for a change
    Killed the czar and his ministers
    Anastasia screamed in vain
    I rode a tank
    Held a generals rank
    When the blitzkrieg raged
    And the bodies stank
    Pleased to meet you
    Hope you guess my name, oh yeah
    Ah, what’s puzzling you
    Is the nature of my game, oh yeah
    I watched with glee
    While your kings and queens
    Fought for ten decades
    For the gods they made
    I shouted out,
    Who killed the kennedys?
    When after all
    It was you and me
    Let me please introduce myself
    I’m a man of wealth and taste
    And I laid traps for troubadours
    Who get killed before they reached bombay
    Pleased to meet you
    Hope you guessed my name, oh yeah
    But what’s puzzling you
    Is the nature of my game, oh yeah, get down, baby
    Pleased to meet you
    Hope you guessed my name, oh yeah
    But what’s confusing you
    Is just the nature of my game
    Just as every cop is a criminal
    And all the sinners saints
    As heads is tails
    Just call me lucifer
    Cause I’m in need of some restraint
    So if you meet me
    Have some courtesy
    Have some sympathy, and some taste
    Use all your well-learned politesse
    Or I’ll lay your soul to waste, um yeah
    Pleased to meet you
    Hope you guessed my name, um yeah
    But what’s puzzling you
    Is the nature of my game, um mean it, get down
    Woo, who
    Oh yeah, get on down
    Oh yeah
    Oh yeah!
    Tell me baby, what’s my name
    Tell me honey, can ya guess my name
    Tell me baby, what’s my name
    I tell you one time, you’re to blame
    Ooo, who
    Ooo, who
    Ooo, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Oh, yeah
    What’s my name
    Tell me, baby, what’s my name
    Tell me, sweetie, what’s my name
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Ooo, who, who
    Oh, yeah
    [ Lyrics from: http://www

    If you take the lyrics at face value, you might consider that Mick Jagger is sincerely suggesting that the devil really isn’t such a bad fellow. After all, he says, “every cop is a criminal, and all the sinners saints,” and it was “you and me” who “killed the Kennedys.”

    Look more deeply, though, and you will find that this confusion of good and evil, of appearance and reality, is really just a ploy of the evil one. The devil may appear to be a gentleman, “a man of wealth and taste.” He may appear to be polite and a member of good society, approaching you with the words, “Let me please introduce myself,” and “pleased to meet you.” But alongside of this we have a long catalog of some of the worst atrocities of human history, starting with the torture of Christ on the cross, and ending with the modern assassination of the Kennedys (so contemporary, in fact, that the lyrics were changed from “John Kennedy” to “the Kennedys” while the Stones were in the studio recording the song). Along the way we have the Crusades and the Bolshevik revolution in Russia thrown in for good measure. So let there be no mistake: there really is evil in the world.

    This, then, is the real significance of the taunting refrain, “Hope you guess my name, But what’s puzzling you is the nature of my game.” This is not Mick Jagger, saying “hope you can guess that I’m playing the devil in this song.” That’s obvious from the beginning. No, this is the devil saying, “Hope you recognize me when you see me, because I come in many guises. And my game is not to do evil myself, but to trick you into doing it.”

    This confusion between appearance and reality, between good and evil, runs throughout the song. Christ is mentioned, not only for the pain that he experienced, but for his “moment of doubt.” And in addition to all the acts of violence described, the devil says that he has “stolen many a man’s soul and faith.” His interest in the son of God was not limited to the torture of Christ himself — he also “made damn sure that Pilate washed his hands and sealed his fate.” And his final threat to the listener is to “… lay your soul to waste.”

    Just in case we might be in danger of taking Jagger’s appropriation of the devil as a serious case of religious conviction, he throws in the lines, “I watched with glee, while your kings and queens fought for ten decades for the gods they made.” So Jagger is not seriously arguing Christian doctrine here. Instead Jagger seems to be using the devil as a symbol, a personification of evil, and of how it works in the world. What the words seem to be saying is that there is evil in the world, and we need to be on our guard, because evil will not always appear as such, and may often be disguised by those who would wish to deceive us.

  10. Got a better one :)

    He draws out, the cigarette smoke trail spins//
    thoughts crowd the room, till its only him//
    he feels it, he lives for it//
    spent half a life pushing it forward, what he wouldn’t give for it//
    saw naysayers put in their places//
    feel like he’s scaling the foothills of greatness//
    holding all four aces, he braced//
    for the next few years being some for the ages//
    no time to heed, pride come before the fall//
    for now he shines, all rose, no thorn//
    full bloom, like his plan fool proof//
    high noon sun beaming, spoke to soon//
    the dark clouds scream towards his door//
    and a house of cards, it cant stand in the storm//
    wind picked up, sunshine stopped//
    the world came down with the very first drop

    light me up, like a cigarette//
    and just let me burn, catch fire, and burn, and catch fire//
    light a spark, and ignite it in the dark//
    so when im no more theyl know i was here before, so just let me burn//

    he still gunning, beaten but refused to be broken//
    what some call delusional others call focus//
    nah he focussed, came back for the re up//
    nows not the time to kick back with his feet up//
    stands in the rain with his face to the heavens//
    and his arms outstretched from the pain that he let in//
    world keep kicking hard, aint gonna get him//
    he’s willing to fight and die for the path that he heads in//
    and thats a bittersweet faith//
    knowing high and lows will come boy but them’s the breaks//
    its pride, its madness, its seeing what others can only imagine//
    and then reaching out to grab it//
    saying “i can say that whatever comes happens//
    but i followed my heart my goddamn it”//
    exposing reality to magic//
    its hope, and thats all it is, he walked through fire and its all he came back with, saying//

    light me up, like a cigarette//
    and just let me burn, catch fire, and burn, and catch fire//
    light a spark, and ignite it in the dark//
    so when im no more theyl know i was here before, so just let me burn//

    come what may, some memories fade//
    but some stay as vivid as the moment they were made//
    dreams of the days where he stood like a mountain//
    its been a while since then but who’s counting//
    he lies awake, lies in wait, for the light of the morning to bless him, and shine again//
    summon the rise of the fallen//
    laces tied, comeback trail still walking//
    lives for it, lifetime on the mish for it//
    man, there aint a thing he didn’t give for it//
    but make a bet till his last sun sets//
    hel be pushing for the light, matey aint done yet//
    head held high slow danced through his hell//
    still a point there he gotta prove to himself//
    and, the beat drops, same songs on next//
    so he sparks up a cigarette, takes a deep breath//

    light me up, like a cigarette//
    and just let me burn, catch fire, and burn, and catch fire//
    light a spark, and ignite it in the dark//
    so when im no more theyl know i was here before, so just let me burn//

    This song has assonace, rhyme, repetition and imagery and tells a vivid story or reaching success and life’s challenges.

  11. Dela

    One day I looked up and there you were,
    like a simple question looking for an answer.
    Now I am the whale listening to some inner call,
    swimming blindly to throw myself upon your shore.

    What if I don’t find you when I have landed?
    Will you leave me here to die on your shore stranded?

    I think I know why the dog howls at the moon.
    I think I know why the dog howls at the moon.

    I sing dela, dela ngyanya dela when I’m with you,
    dela, sondela mama sondela, I burn for you.

    I’ve been waiting for you all my life hoping for a miracle,
    I’ve been waiting day and night, day and night.
    I’ve been waiting for you all my life waiting for redemption,
    I’ve been wating day and night, I burn for you.

    A blind bird sings inside the cage that is my heart,
    the image of your face comes to me when I am alone in the dark.
    If I could give a shape to this ache that I have for you,
    If I could find the voice that says the words to capture you.

    I think I know, I think I know, I think I know,
    I think I know why the dog howls at the moon.
    I think I know why the dog howls at the moon.

    I sing dela, dela ngyanya dela when I’m with you,
    dela, sondela mama sondela, I burn for you.

    I’ve been waiting for you all my life hoping for a miracle,
    I’ve been waiting day and night, day and night.
    I’ve been waiting for you all my life waiting for redemption,
    I’ve been wating day and night, I burn for you.

    Sondela, sondela, mama sondela, I burn for you.

    I’ve been waiting for you all my life hoping for a miracle,
    I’ve been waiting day and night, day and night.
    I’ve been waiting for you all my life waiting for redemption,
    I’ve been wating day and night, I burn for you.

    “like a simple question looking for an answer” – Similie; used to establish the link and relationship betwen the singer and subject of the song.

    “Now I am the whale listening to some inner call” Metaphor; emphasises the natural longing has for the woman (or man) of whihc he sings.

    “I burn for you” Repetition of metaphorical language; It can be assumed that the singers is not literally on fire, however,the repetition of this phrase through the song identifies it as a key motif ir idea whihc the songwriter was trying to convey to the listener.

  12. Watching Me, Watching You – Gypsy and the Cat

    Looking back to the past
    I see you, your smile it lasts
    Sitting here my heart is cold
    Over there I see a glow
    Now you’ve caught me in a stare
    And it’s hard for me to bear
    You watching me, watching you

    The train has passed, she is gone,
    A chance is lost, a memory’s born
    If I knew, where you’re going
    I’d ride the breeze and catch you there
    All I had was a perfect view
    Watching me watching you

    Now we wait for time to pass
    In an empty hour glass
    These moments take me back to you
    Watching me, watching you.

    I’m fallin’ out, I’m lost in love
    I can see the light of day
    I’m drifting back to the shore
    I’ll be walking tall again
    And you’ve got me in a stare
    And it’s hard for me to bear
    I can’t win and I can’t loose
    I’m watching me, watching you.

    Now we wait for time to pass
    In an empty hour glass
    These moments take me back to you
    Watching me, watching you.

    And you’ve got me in a stare
    And it’s hard for me to bear
    I can’t win and I can’t lose
    I’m watching me, watching you.

    Now we wait for time to pass
    In an empty hour glass
    These moments take me back to you
    Watching me, watching you.

    I love this song so much! The rhythm and beat are great, and the lyrics are really nice.

    DEVICES

    Metaphor = ‘Sitting here my heart is cold’: The writer/ singer’s heart cannot literally be cold as it would mean they were dead. This, however, implies that his heart is hurting and he is upset. Incorporating this at the beginning of the song assists in setting the mood and theme for the rest of the lyrics.
    ‘Lost in love’: creates an image of a person suffering with emotions of love, and not being able to escape such feelings.

    Repetition = ‘Watching me, watching you’: The title of the song is used at the end of every paragraph. The repetition of this allows the lyrics in each stanza to be drawn to a conclusion, and enhances the theme of experiencing loss.

  13. Sounds of Silence- Simon & Garfunkel (I’m sorry, but this is my favourite song)

    Hello darkness, my old friend
    I’ve come to talk with you again
    Because a vision softly creeping
    Left its seeds while I was sleeping
    And the vision that was planted in my brain
    Still remains
    Within the sound of silence

    In restless dreams I walked alone
    Narrow streets of cobblestone
    ‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
    I turned my collar to the cold and damp
    When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
    That split the night
    And touched the sound of silence

    And in the naked light I saw
    Ten thousand people, maybe more
    People talking without speaking
    People hearing without listening
    People writing songs that voices never share
    And no one dared
    Disturb the sound of silence

    “Fools”, said I, “You do not know
    Silence like a cancer grows
    Hear my words that I might teach you
    Take my arms that I might reach you”
    But my words, like silent raindrops fell
    And echoed
    In the wells of silence

    And the people bowed and prayed
    To the neon god they made
    And the sign flashed out its warning
    In the words that it was forming
    And the sign said, “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
    And tenement halls”
    And whispered in the sounds of silence

    Devices: Sibilance, Personification, simile
    Firstly, the song starts with the personification of Darkness as a friend. Giving a more relaxed feel to the song and complementing the lilting chords that accompany it. This also sets up the rest of the song to be a recount of what this person saw as the person goes on to talk about a “vision softly creeping” which is also an example of personification.
    In the reoccurring line “sounds of silence”, sibilance has been used with soft words to create a much more peaceful feel. When combined with the chords, this makes the listener feel relaxed and at peace as if there is little to worry about.
    The simile “Silence like a cancer grows” is used very strongly as the person at this point is trying to get a message to the crowd. This simile has been used to invoke action into people because cancer is deadly and when silence is compared to a growing cancer, it also is seen to be threatening.

  14. Time- Pink Floyd

    Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
    You fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way
    Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
    Waiting for someone or something to show you the way

    Tired of lying in the sunshine
    Staying home to watch the rain
    And you are young and life is long
    And there is time to kill today
    And then one day you find
    Ten years have got behind you
    No one told you when to run
    You missed the starting gun

    And you run, and you run to catch up with the sun, but it’s sinking
    Racing around to come up behind you again
    The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
    Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

    Every year is getting shorter
    Never seem to find the time
    Plans that either come to nought
    Or half a page of scribbled lines
    Hanging on in quiet desparation is the English way
    The time is gone
    The song is over
    Thought I’d something more to say

    Home, home again
    I like to be here when I can
    When I come home cold and tired
    It’s good to warm my bones beside the fire
    Far away across the field
    The tolling of the iron bell
    Calls the faithful to their knees
    To hear the softly spoken magic spells

    This song’s overarching meaning is that life is ruled by time. When we are young we believe that time is our greatest enemy. We are always bored with nothing to do and always waiting to be older. We wish our lives away. However, when we get older we realise that time has eluded us and we no longer have the opportunities in front of us that we used to.
    Rhyme, onomatapoeia, repetition and metaphor are used to describe how time is such a large focus in human life.

    The first stanza is essentially the early years of life:
    Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
    You fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way
    Rhyme is used and so is onomatapoeia in the word ‘fritter’.

    In the second and third stanza, there is repetition of the word ‘sun’ and ‘sunshine’.
    In the first stanza, when the character is young and tired of lying around in the sun and is waiting for something else. However, in the second stanza when the character is older, they are wanting to ‘catch up with the sun, but it’s sinking’. The sun is eluded to as a metaphor for time. Someone is trying to chase the sun to get their time back, however it’s too late. This metaphor is confirmed 2 lines later: The sun is the same in a relative way, but we’re older. This is saying that the sun too, is getting older, but at a slower rate and it has more time than us.

    The last stanza of the song is parallel to the first. Just as in the first stanza, the character is at home. However, this time, they enjoy coming home and being home. “Home, home again I like to be here when I can When I come home cold and tired It’s good to warm my bones beside the fire”.
    This is the poem coming full circle- from wanting to move away when they’re younger to the character being happy to sit at home and be happy while doing so.

  15. Meddler – August Burns Red

    This moment will too pass us by.
    It’s this notion inside all of us to prioritize
    Through our selfish eyes.
    To be the bull behind the rampage,
    The reason for all the riot.

    We’ll feed our flame before wasting time on everyone else’s,
    With more problems and less pride.
    We’ll feed our flame before wasting time on everyone else’s,
    The gallows were not supposed to look like this.

    Oh God, we live in misery, lying here in desperation.://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/a/august_burns_red/meddler.html ]
    We need you here more than anything right now… right now.

    If everything’s relative,
    Then why the emptiness in our souls? (2x)

    Trying to untie the knot we thought
    We were untying our entire lives,
    We’re busied up and burnt out…

    Everyone together, we will strengthen ourselves. (3x)
    We will.

    Because now we know
    You won’t ever fly fast enough to make time stand still.
    You won’t ever fly fast enough to make time stand still.

    Stop, listen, and learn. (2x)

    You won’t ever fly fast enough to make time stand still.
    Stop, listen, and learn. (4x)

    This song doesn’t really follow any particular rhythm, it changes time regularly, giving an overall feel of uncertainty. Alliteration is used regularly in the first stanza, the strong ‘o’ sound (Notion, of, prioritize, through, our) as well as the strong ‘I’ sound (self-ISH, eyes) and the ‘r’ (reason, riot), all examples of strong harsh alliteration, which all contribute to the power and and aggression of the metaphor of the “bull behind the rampage” (which also uses strong alliteration in the ‘b’ sound).
    The second stanza uses repetition of the metaphor “we’ll feed our flame…” with a hint of sarcasm, implying selfishness and pride in the reader. Through metaphor, likening the seriousness of the situation to “gallows,” the poet conveys the intensity of his feelings on this subject.
    He uses alliteration of the soft ‘t’ sound (trying, to, untie, the, knot…), in conjunction with several unbroken lines, overall creating an air of confusion, fitting for one struggling to untie a knot.
    The following stanza presents an apparent paradox “everyone together, we will strengthen ourselves,” finally resolving the issues presented above or selfishness and internal struggle suggesting that the solution is working together, only then can we make each other, and in turn ourselves, stronger.

  16. POETIC DEVICES:

    Repetition, alliteration, rhyme

    “ Cinema”
    ( Benny Benassi feat. Gary Go)

    I could watch you for a lifetime
    You’re my favourite movie
    A thousand endings
    You mean everything to me
    I never know what’s comin’
    Forever fascinated
    Hope you don’t stop runnin’ To me
    ‘cause I’ll always be waitin’

    You are A cinema
    I could watch you forever
    Action, Thriller
    I could watch you forever
    You are A cinema
    A Hollywood treasure
    Love you Just the way you are
    A Cinema A Cinema A Cinema
    A Cinema A Cinema A Cinema

    Stars spell out your name
    Like in a science fiction drama
    Romance roll in
    Like a flower in the summer
    You always keep me guessin’
    Forever my wonder
    Hope you start undressin’
    All my dreams until the end of

    You are A cinema
    I could watch you forever
    Action Thriller
    I could watch you forever
    You are A cinema
    A Hollywood treasure
    Like you Just the way you are
    A cinema A cinema A cinema
    A cinema A cinema A cinema

    Never know what movie you’re playin’
    Never know what movie you’re playin’
    Never know what movie you’re playin’
    Never know never know never know

    You are A cinema
    I could watch you forever
    Action Thriller
    I could watch you forever
    You are A cinema
    A Hollywood treasure
    Love you just the way you are
    A cinema A cinema A cinema
    A cinema A cinema Cinema

  17. The song that I have chosen is Wonderwall by Oasis. This song is similar to a ballad telling the story of someone he feels very strongly about and feels they are the most ideal aspect of his life. The tone of this piece is very serious, and gives off a sad, dark vibe. The third stanza includes rhyme with the words winding and blinding and also in the the fourth stanza, ending with “all and wonderwall”. Repetition occurs frequently throughout the poem with the phrases, “you’re gonna be the one that saves me” and “you’re my wonderwall”. The lines “that they’re gonna throw it back to you” and in stanza 5 with “but they’ll never throw it back to you”. These lines are working with each other metaphorically talking about a day that things are going to “come back”.. As stated throughout the song, this is written from a first person point of view as it is talking from the writer’s personal perspective. The lines “And all the roads we have to walk along are winding, and all the lights that lead us there are blinding” are imagery. Also, personification is used as they give the attributes of “winding” and being “blinding” to roads and lights which are not living organisms. A cliché is also included in the piece when it states “the word was on the street” as it is a very commonly overused way of speech. “The fire in your heart is out” is an example of a metaphor as there is no real fire in your heart, but it is directly stating that one does exist, and that it has been put out.
    Today is gonna be the day
    That they’re gonna throw it back to you
    By now you should’ve somehow
    Realized what you gotta do
    I don’t believe that anybody
    Feels the way I do about you now

    Backbeat the word was on the street
    That the fire in your heart is out
    I’m sure you’ve heard it all before
    But you never really had a doubt
    I don’t believe that anybody feels
    The way I do about you now

    And all the roads we have to walk along are winding
    And all the lights that lead us there are blinding
    There are many things that I would
    Like to say to you
    I don’t know how

    Because maybe
    You’re gonna be the one who saves me ?
    And after all
    You’re my wonderwall

    Today was gonna be the day?
    But they’ll never throw it back to you
    By now you should’ve somehow
    Realized what you’re not to do
    I don’t believe that anybody
    Feels the way I do
    About you now

    And all the roads that lead to you were winding
    And all the lights that light the way are blinding
    There are many things that I would like to say to you
    I don’t know how

    I said maybe
    You’re gonna be the one who saves me ?
    And after all
    You’re my wonderwall

    I said maybe
    You’re gonna be the one who saves me ?
    And after an
    You’re my wonderwall

    Said maybe
    You’re gonna be the one that saves me
    You’re gonna be the one that saves me
    You’re gonna be the one that saves me

  18. The song I have chose is “Give Me Some Truth” by John Lennon. A protest song against corrupt government control primarily, but exhibits a deeper meaning with direct relation to the current events in John’s life at the time. He uses a combination of alliteration, rhyme, repetition and simile to skillfully promote his anger.

    At the time of release John Lennon was living in New York city and had established himself as a notorious promoter of peace particularly in opposition to the Vietnam war. The peoples views on war had changed and many joined John in his revolution, the president at the time Robert Nixon despised John and feared he would lose his people to John so much that he illegally ordered agents to stalk all of Johns activities and tap his phones. At the time the president kept a lot of information to himself regarding the war and frequently lied about his activities in Vietnam, even claiming that when he was elected he would stop the war (which he didnt if not make it worse), however people found out about the slaughter of innocent Vietnamese. Among this Nixon filed a court case to have John deported on the basis of a past closed case of John being found with pot whilst in England, a completely unjust reason for deportation. John fought for his innocence and won. A collaboration of these events obviously inspiration for the song “Give me some truth”.

    John uses alliteration to describe the corrupt politicians “By neurotic, psychotic, pig-headed politicians”

    The line “No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of Tricky Dicky
    Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me” Is a direct reference to Robert Nixon whilst to some it may appears like complete nonsense due to its deep intercontextuality. Nixon is referred to as Tricky Dick which is a liberal nickname that had been applied for decades. Mother hubbard is a reference to an old nursery rhyme called “Old mother hubbard” and a direct parallel to the political events of the day, where Nixon offers and promises the people things to make them happy but all along backstabbing by not fulfilling these intentions purposefully (ie His promise to end the Vietnam war when initiated, when he was he immediately led an attack). As in the nursery rhyme is “about a woman going to get her dog a bone, only to discover that her cupboard is empty”.

    The song is skillfully tied together with rhyme, and the other verses have their own meanings, but I have written enough so ill leave it at that. John has written plenty more songs dealing with corruption, war, inequality and peace, check out “Bring on the Luicee (Freeda Peeple)” and “I Dont Want to Be A Solider” “Woman is the NIgger of the World” and “Attika State” to name a couple

    Lyrics:

    I’m sick and tired of hearing things
    From uptight, short-sighted, narrow-minded hypocrites
    All I want is the truth
    Just gimme some truth

    I’ve had enough of reading things
    By neurotic, psychotic, pig-headed politicians
    All I want is the truth
    Just gimme some truth

    No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of Tricky Dicky
    Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me
    With just a pocketful of hope
    Money for dope
    Money for rope

    I’m sick to death of seeing things
    From tight-lipped, condescending, mama’s little chauvinists
    All I want is the truth
    Just gimme some truth now

    I’ve had enough of watching scenes
    Of schizophrenic, ego-centric, paranoiac, prima-donnas
    All I want is the truth now
    Just gimme some truth

    No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of Tricky Dicky
    Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me
    With just a pocketful of hope
    It’s money for dope
    Money for rope

    Ah, I’m sick to death of hearing things
    from uptight, short-sighted, narrow-minded hypocrites
    All I want is the truth now
    Just gimme some truth now

    I’ve had enough of reading things
    by neurotic, psychotic, pig-headed politicians
    All I want is the truth now
    Just gimme some truth now

    All I want is the truth now
    Just gimme some truth now
    All I want is the truth
    Just gimme some truth
    All I want is the truth
    Just gimme some truth

  19. The song that I have chosen is ‘Drumming’ by Florence and the Machine. This group is known world wide for having very deep and sometimes dark lyrics convey to the audience the deepest meaning of the artist. In this song Florence uses a range of poetic techniques such as Personification, Onomatopoeia, Imagery and Metaphors to convey to the audience her emotions and ideals.

    For example: Personification and onomatopoeia is used through ‘There’s a drumming noise inside my head, that throws me to the ground.’ While a mere sound does not the have the physical capabilities to throw someone to the ground, this use of personification allows the audience to understand how intense this din her head must be.

    In one stanzer of the song the lyrics ‘I swallow the sound and it swallows me whole
    Till there’s nothing left inside my soul’ This use of personification then allows the audience to visualise this destructive idea that Florence is trying to convey.

    There’s a drumming noise inside my head
    That starts when you’re around
    I swear that you could hear it
    It makes such an all mighty sound

    There’s a drumming noise inside my head
    That throws me to the ground
    I swear that you should hear it
    It makes such an all mighty sound

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    I ran to a tower where the church bells chime
    I hoped that they would clear my mind
    They left a ringing in my ear
    But that drum’s still beating loud and clear

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    As I move my feet towards your body
    I can hear this beat it fills my head up
    And gets louder and louder
    It fills my head up and gets louder and louder

    I run to the river and dive straight in
    I pray that the water will drown out the din
    But as the water fills my mouth
    It couldn’t wash the echoes out
    But as the water fills my mouth
    It couldn’t wash the echoes out

    I swallow the sound and it swallows me whole
    Till there’s nothing left inside my soul
    As empty as that beating drum
    But the sound has just begun

    As I move my feet towards your body
    I can hear this beat it fills my head up
    And gets louder and louder
    It fills my head up and gets louder and louder

    There’s a drumming noise inside my head
    That starts when you’re around
    I swear that you could hear it
    It makes such an all mighty sound

    There’s a drumming noise inside my head
    That starts when you’re around
    I swear that you could hear it
    It makes such an all mighty sound

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    Louder than sirens
    Louder than bells
    Sweeter than heaven
    And hotter than hell

    As I move my feet towards your body
    I can hear this beat it fills my head up
    And gets louder and louder
    It fills my head up and gets louder and louder

  20. The song I have chosen is “Time of Your Life” by Green Day. This song has great depth and meaning to it. The overall message that I take from this song is the idea that life is made up of so many memories and moments that are sometimes lovely or sometimes painful. However, whatever you take from life, it is the journey that counts and what everyone much appreciate; because you only get to live it once.

    The song writer has used a range of poetic devices. One example of this is Personification. “Time grabs you by the wrist and directs you where to go”, gives time, human characteristics and creates the idea that time is such an immense, domineering and powerful factor in life, which in return dictates everyone’s direction and influences the road they will take during their life.

    Another example of personification is “so take the photographs and still frames in your mind” this device personifies the human mind as a camera and encourages one to appreciate and cherish every moment of your life and create lovely memories.

    Metaphor is also used in one of the stanzas of this song. “So make the best of this text and don’t ask why.” This metaphor claims that life is a test and something everyone should not question and something one should treasure and wear out to their very best.

    Another turning point;
    a fork stuck in the road.

    Time grabs you by the wrist;
    directs you where to go.

    So make the best of this test
    and don’t ask why.

    It’s not a question
    but a lesson learned in time.

    It’s something unpredictable
    but in the end it’s right.
    I hope you had the time of your life.

    So take the photographs
    and still frames in your mind.

  21. This song is called ‘Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)’ by Florence + the Machine. The melody is very whimsical, however, the lyrics have a darker meaning upon closer inspection. acrifice is a prominent theme. Florence makes several references to Alice and Wonderland (‘the looking glass’, ‘which pill to take’). She also makes an analogy regarding King Midas (‘Midas is king and he holds me so tight’). According to the bible, King Midas was man who had the ability to turn everything he touched into gold. Although this initally seemed like blessing, one day, when he held his daughter in his arms, she turned into solid gold.

    The looking glass, so shiny and new
    How quickly the glamour fades
    I start spinning, slipping out of time
    Was that the wrong pill to take? (Raise it up)

    You made a deal, and now it seems you have to offer up
    But will it ever be enough? (Raise it up, raise it up)
    It’s not enough (Raise it up, raise it up)

    Here I am, a rabbit hearted girl
    Frozen in the headlights
    It seems I’ve made the final sacrifice

    We raise it up, this offering
    We raise it up

    This is a gift, it comes with a price
    Who is the lamb and who is the knife?
    Midas is king and he holds me so tight
    And turns me to gold in the sunlight

Leave a Reply

